Actors

EU

European Union
Rue de la Loi 41, B-1049, Brussels, Belgium
Tel : +32 2 299 11 11

Visit website

The EU and West Africa have a strong and long-standing relationship of partnership and co-operation, with the EU standing as West Africa’s primary trade partner and major donor of development aid. The Regional Indicative Programme (RIP) for West Africa is a programme funded by the European Union under the European Development Fund (EDF), the overall objective of which is to contribute to reducing poverty through supporting better growth and regional economic integration among countries of the region. Through the current Regional Indicative Programme (2014-2020) under the 11th EDF, the EU will make available to the region, EUR 1.15 billion, with priorities centred on regional integration. These priorities are: 1) Peace, security and regional stability; 2) Regional economic integration and support for trade and private sector; 3) Resilience, food and nutritional security and natural resources. The West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA) and the Economic Community of West Africa (ECOWAS), as well as Mauritania – have a mandate in the field of economic integration in West Africa and are therefore responsible for the implementation of the 11th EDF. EU’s humanitarian aid in support of Sahelian countries and Nigeria is co-ordinated by the European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (ECHO). Moreover, many food security and resilience projects are conducted within the framework of the EU Trust Fund for Africa.

Beyond funding, the European Union is directly involved in RPCA work through its various bodies. The Commission’s Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO), participates through its thematic and geographically focused teams, in the Network’s strategic planning and the implementation of RPCA core work. Its Joint Research Centre (JRC) supports the Cadre harmonisé analysis on food and nutrition vulnerability, conducted twice a year in the region. The EU Delegations participate in the regional analyses and various workshops at country level.

Structure type : International organisation
Countries : Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Chad, CILSS area, Côte d'Ivoire, ECOWAS area, G5 Sahel area, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Regions, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, UEMOA area
Themes : Agriculture & Value chains, Children & Youth, Climate change & Adapation, Employment, Environment, Fisheries & Aquaculture, Food security, Gender, Land, Livestock & Pastoralism, Markets, prices & trade, Natural resource management, Nutrition, Resilience, Rural-urban links, SDGs, Social protection, Water

Acteurs

UE

Union européenne
Rue de la Loi 41, B-1049, Bruxelles, Belgique
Tel : +32 2 299 11 11

Visitez le site Web

L’UE et l’Afrique de l’Ouest entretiennent depuis longtemps des relations solides de partenariat et de coopération, l’UE étant l’un des principaux partenaires commerciaux de l’Afrique de l’Ouest et le plus grand bailleur d’aide au développement de la région. Le programme indicatif régional (PIR) pour l’Afrique de l’Ouest est un programme financé par l’Union européenne au titre du Fonds européen de développement (FED), dont l’objectif global est de contribuer à réduire la pauvreté en soutenant une meilleure croissance et une intégration économique régionale entre les pays de la région. Dans le cadre du Programme indicatif régional (2014-20) au titre du 11e FED, l’UE mettra à la disposition de la région un montant de 1.15 milliard d’euros, les priorités étant axées sur l’intégration régionale. Ces priorités sont : 1) Paix, sécurité et stabilité régionale ; 2) Intégration économique régionale et appui au commerce et au secteur privé ; 3) Résilience, sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle et ressources naturelles. L’Union économique et monétaire ouest-africaine (UEMOA) et la Communauté économique des États de l’Afrique de l’Ouest (CEDEAO), ainsi que la Mauritanie, ont un mandat dans le domaine de l’intégration économique ouest-africaine et sont responsables de la mise en œuvre des projets du 11e FED. L’aide humanitaire de l’UE en faveur des pays sahéliens et au Nigéria est coordonnée par la Protection civile des opérations d’aide humanitaire (ECHO). En outre, de nombreux projets relatifs à la sécurité alimentaire et à la résilience sont menés dans le cadre du Fonds fiduciaire de l’UE pour l’Afrique.

Au-delà des financements, l’Union européenne est directement impliquée dans les travaux du RPCA à travers ses différents organes. La Direction générale de la coopération internationale et du développement de la Commission (DG DEVCO), à travers ses équipes thématiques et géographiquement ciblées, participent à la planification stratégique du Réseau et à la mise en œuvre des travaux du RPCA. Son Centre commun de recherche (CCR) soutient les analyses du Cadre harmonisé sur la vulnérabilité alimentaire et nutritionnelle, menées deux fois par an dans la région. Les délégations de l’UE participent aux analyses régionales et aux divers ateliers de travail au niveau national.

Type de structure : Organisation internationale
Pays : Bénin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, CEDEAO, CILSS, Côte d'Ivoire, G5 SAHEL, Gambie, Ghana, Guinée, Guinée-Bissau, Libéria, Liptako-Gourma, Mali, Mauritanie, Niger, Nigéria, Regions, Sénégal, Sierra Leone, Tchad, Togo, UEMOA
Thèmes : Agriculture et chaînes de valeurs, Changement climatique et adaptation, Eau, Élevage et pastoralisme, Emploi, Enfance et jeunesse, Environnement, Questions foncières, Genre, Gestion des ressources naturelles, Marchés, prix, commerce, Nutrition, OMD, Pêche et aquaculture, Protection sociale, Résilience, Rural-urbain, Sécurité alimentaire