European Union
Rue de la Loi 41, B-1049, Brussels, Belgium
Tel : +32 2 299 11 11

Visit website

The EU and West Africa have a strong and long-standing relationship of partnership and co-operation, with the EU standing as West Africa’s primary trade partner and major donor of development aid. The Regional Indicative Programme (RIP) for West Africa is a programme funded by the European Union under the European Development Fund (EDF), the overall objective of which is to contribute to reducing poverty through supporting better growth and regional economic integration among countries of the region. Through the current Regional Indicative Programme (2014-2020) under the 11th EDF, the EU will make available to the region, EUR 1.15 billion, with priorities centred on regional integration. These priorities are: 1) Peace, security and regional stability; 2) Regional economic integration and support for trade and private sector; 3) Resilience, food and nutritional security and natural resources. The West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA) and the Economic Community of West Africa (ECOWAS), as well as Mauritania – have a mandate in the field of economic integration in West Africa and are therefore responsible for the implementation of the 11th EDF. EU’s humanitarian aid in support of Sahelian countries and Nigeria is co-ordinated by the European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (ECHO). Moreover, many food security and resilience projects are conducted within the framework of the EU Trust Fund for Africa.

Beyond funding, the European Union is directly involved in RPCA work through its various bodies. The Commission’s Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO), participates through its thematic and geographically focused teams, in the Network’s strategic planning and the implementation of RPCA core work. Its Joint Research Centre (JRC) supports the Cadre harmonisé analysis on food and nutrition vulnerability, conducted twice a year in the region. The EU Delegations participate in the regional analyses and various workshops at country level.

Structure type : International organisation
Countries : Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Chad, CILSS area, Côte d'Ivoire, ECOWAS area, G5 Sahel area, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Region, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, UEMOA area
Themes : Agriculture & Value chains, Children & Youth, Climate change & Adapation, Employment, Environment, Fisheries & Aquaculture, Food security, Gender, Land, Livestock & Pastoralism, Markets, prices & trade, Natural resource management, Nutrition, Resilience, Rural-urban links, SDGs, Social protection, Water